obexion@charter-global.com | 0845 050 8705

Loss Prevention Standards Explained

If you’ve been exploring your purchasing options for secure roller shutters, you’ll have likely seen Loss Prevention Standards highlighted as an important factor. But what exactly are they, and how do they fit into roller shutter certification?

In order to understand loss prevention standards, it’s essential to understand the terminology surrounding them. You may have also seen mention of: SR standards, LPCB, LPS 1175 and BRE. All of these are used to help identify a secure roller shutter. So understanding the terms and how they fit together is a crucial part of making an informed decision.

Loss Prevention Standards X

Loss Prevention Standards, the BRE & the LPCB. What are they?

At the top level of security shutter certification is the BRE, or Building Research Establishment. They’re an independent and impartial, research-based consultancy group, who offer testing and training in aspects of built environments. Principally, they help the government and businesses make informed decisions on essential, construction-based purchases.

Part of the BRE, is the LPCB, or Loss Prevention Certification Board. This board specifically offers certification to security systems and technology, which meet their standards and test requirements.

The LPCB assesses security roller shutters with a test labelled LPS (Loss Prevention Standard) 1175. This test specifies tools the shutter must resist against, and the time the shutter must resist attempted entry for.

The test is currently in its 7th issue (or version), so you may see suppliers listing ‘LPS 1175 Issue 7’, to highlight that the shutter meets the most recent test standards.

Depending on the product’s performance in this test, it’s given a certification from SR2-SR5.

Loss Prevention Standards
Each SR standards rating has its own applications, and a specific SR rating may be required depending on the structure it’s being installed on. For example, you may find your business might be sufficiently protected with an SR2 rated shutter. Or if it’s critical infrastructure, an SR4 or above is likely to be a requirement.

 But when determining what SR shutter is right for you, there are a number of other influencing factors to consider.

Here at Obexion, we’ve published a completely free e-guide to choosing the right SR rated shutter for your project or premises. It covers all essential variables you should consider, from your sector, to physical location and the nature of what you’re protecting. There’s even information on additional functionality you may not have considered. You can download your copy for free, here.

And we’ve produced another guide, specifically for those in retail. It’s free, and you can download yours here.

retail guide png

Real Time Web Analytics